Pookies Is Not A Bear

What can he Lifebloom for you?

Hello, world! January 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Pookies @ 19:51

Welcome to Pookies Is Not A Bear, a blog which documents the adventures of a restoration druid on the realm Bonechewer.

Pookies’ humble beginnings go back to the winter of 2007.  I had grown tired of my Blood Elf hunter on Staghelm (Blood Elf hunter?  What was I thinking?), so I rolled on Bonechewer to be on the same server as an IRL friend.  While leveling, I found a great trio of long-time WoW players who had also just rerolled on Bonechewer.  We hit it off immediately and began plowing our way through all of Azeroth’s dungeons, four-man style.

Back then, Pookies was a healer.  Ah, Azeroth healing, how I miss thee.  A Rejuvenation here, a Rejuvenation there.  With all of our gear sets comprised mostly of dungeon blues, getting to Outland was a breeze.

Upon our arrival in Outland, however, a change in roles occured immediately.  Our tank was sick of tanking.  Our mage wanted to play her (transferred) priest.  That meant Pookies had to go feral.

At first, Pookies was very shaky on his bear legs.  By level 70, I realized that tanking as a feral druid is the easiest role to fill in the game.  And with our solid team (holy priest, shadow priest, affliction lock, and a pick-up), most heroics were a walk in the park.  It wasn’t long before Pookies & Co. were running Karazhan with a solid group and Pookies was 2/5 T4.

Then it all fell apart.

With the dissolution of the Karazhan group, a couple of the core members of our group decided to become far less active.  I app’ed to a friend’s raiding guild that needed healers and respecced resto.  My frustration grew with poor raid attendance, however, and eventually I stopped logging on, leaving the WoW world (and my WoW friends) behind me.

Fast forward two or three months.  My curiousity gets the best of me and I log on to see how my old friends are doing.  Everyone is playing (and actively raiding) again.  Even the bosses we had trouble with before in Karazhan are now on farm status in their Karazhan group.

I decide to apply to the guild, which doesn’t have a single restoration druid on the roster.  And the rest is history.

 

Leave a Reply

