Pookies Is Not A Bear

What can he Lifebloom for you?

How to /gquit April 17, 2008

Filed under: Guild Issues — Pookies @ 10:45

A couple of days ago we had a ret paladin poached by another raiding guild on our server. He stole away in the middle of the night. When questioned later, he said that our raid times just didn’t match up with his, and that he really wanted this sword out of BT.

I’m upset because we’re losing a raider, but I’m also upset because this guy was a complete loot whore and took a lot more than he ever gave. Our ZA group (begrudgingly) passed our one and only Jin’rok to him, only to have him run off with it. In my mind, he had a debt to pay in this guild, and quitting at the first sign of trouble (we’ve had some raids get cancelled lately due to poor attendance) was not the way to do it.

It also irks me that he was a huge pussy about quitting. Pulling a /gquit at four o’clock in the morning just goes to show that you know that you’re doing something wrong, and that you don’t have the balls to do it when anyone’s watching. What terrible, terrible form.

I lost the little bit of respect I had left for this player over this incident.

Last night our fury warrior, Dizzon, also /gquit to join the same guild as the ret paladin. He approached our raid leader and a couple of class leaders he was closer to with the issue, including myself, before making a post on the forums to say his thank yous and goodbyes and quitting.

Dizzon has always had excellent raid attendance, and has always brought his A game to raids. He was usually our top DPS in 10- and 25-mans. He was always up front about what was and wasn’t an upgrade for him so that loot could go to someone else or even be disenchanted over collecting dust in his bank.

Dizzon gave a lot more to this guild than he ever took. How we even managed to keep a player of this calibre in the guild for so long I will never know.

I’m upset because we’re losing a raider, but I respect Dizzon for making this decision, and I appreciate that he made it under these circumstances.

When I /gquit, I’d like to be able to say, “Hey … I’ve had a lot of fun with you guys, but you aren’t what I’m looking for in a guild right now. I’ve always pulled my weight around here. I’ve gotten what I have earned … sometimes less, which I’ve tried not to complain about too much, and never more. Thanks for the laughs, and see you around.”

 

4 Responses to “How to /gquit”

  1. Softi Says:

    I totally agree with ya there… two (very!) similar situations handled in very different ways, it’s amazing how different people are isn’t it?

    I recently had to gquit the guild I’d been in for the past 2.5 years, it was tough but the right choice for me. I was able to say similar to your last para there, and it felt good to be able to do it that way 🙂

  2. Pookies Says:

    Hi Softi! It’s always a tough choice to leave a group of people that we have been close to for some time … kudos for /gquitting the right way, and best of luck in your new guild (or as an indy)!

    Also, the tag line of your blog is hilarious!!! 😀

  3. Softi Says:

    oops wrong alias there!

  4. Pookies Says:

    Lol … fixed in both of our comments. 😉


Leave a Reply

