Pookies Is Not A Bear

What can he Lifebloom for you?

Heroics are srs bsns November 25, 2008

Filed under: WotLK Heroics — Pookies @ 11:44

Lemme start off by saying that Wowhead is now blocked for me at work. I’m using my iPod and stolen WiFi to check the URLs for some of these links, but please bear with me if they don’t all work.

Last night I managed to convince some of my friends (in and out of guild) to run the daily heroic, which I thought was The Nexus. It turns out that I had misread the quest text, and the daily quest was actually for The Oculus (which also happened to be the daily dungeon). Well. Oh. Snap.

The problem is that I haven’t really replaced a lot of my gear since level 70. Either the gear has flat out sucked, or the upgrade was so small that I couldn’t be bothered to re-enchant and re-socket another piece of gear. I do have a new ring that finally replaced my Violet Eye ring. And I got a new trinket to replace Lower City Prayerbook (I have it macro’d to my Laughbloom now). Other than that, I am still wearing all level 70 gear … and most of it with level 70 enchants. So when I was specced resto (which I was yesterday), I was still only sitting at around 1350 spellpower unbuffed.

And our group comp was warrior, resto druid, blood DK, shadow priest, and lock. So we’re not talking about a shit ton of CC here.

But here’s the breakdown:

Dragonkin trash
By their powers combined (teehee), those non-elite whelplings and their frostbolts are a far bigger problem than the elites are. Watch your tank and watch yourself. The elites don’t hit very hard at all (you’ll be laughing your way all the way through the triple pack at the end of the first ring there).

Drakos the Interrogator
Pretty much the same as normal. He hits like a kitten and the bomb damage remains very manageable.

Construct trash
You’ve got two types of trash packs here. There are the triple construct/single summoner packs, which are fairly manageable without any CC as long as summoned Snowflakes are dealt with promptly. Then you’ve got the single construct/double summoner/double sorc packs, which are a royal bitch and a half. The Snowflake damage can quickly become unmanageable, and the sorcs chaincasting Blizzard doesn’t halp the situation in the least. I was not able to keep up with the healing on these pulls until our priest started MCing one of the summoners. At that point, the pulls became cake. (Make sure your tank is using LoS to pull the group to him, otherwise one or two of the elites will inevitably be on you right off the bat.)

Varos Cloudstrider
I had some trouble with this one because (nublet alert!) I’m still having a bit of trouble not getting zapped. But we did manage to get through him on the first try even though I died at around 40% (offhealers FTW). He doesn’t hit hard at all, and even the purple beam only hits for about 1 000 damage per tick in heroic mode IIRC. It’s the zap damage you have to look out for.

Mage-Lord Urom trash
Use whatever CC you have available during these pulls. Seriously. These are four or five mob pulls, and they are anything but a joke if you’re running with the shitty gear that I was running with. Be ready to contend beasts, humanoid mobs, and elementals. One Wowhead comment has tips for which mobs to take out first in each pack (serpent, ogre, and fire elemental, respectively). That air elemental is a bitch with its cyclone spell though, so make sure you watch out for that too.

Mage-Lord Urom
Like those before him, this boss hits for jack. He also doesn’t have any new abilities from normal (IIRC), except that his Frost Bomb debuff now stacks and does more damage the longer you stand in the affect area. His explosion is still a bit of a joke (I believe it hits for about 7-8k), not that anyone should be getting hit by it. But if anyone does, you have a lot of time to heal them back up to full health assuming that they are smart enough to stay out of the Frost Bomb.

Ley-Guardian Eregos
This was the first serious boss fight of the instance for my group, and it was completely gear independent. (Go figure.) My group tried all sorts of tactics. Seriously. I think we wiped about ten times on this guy. My gear was all red after about 6 attempts.

We started out with the one ruby (tank), one emerald (healer), and three bronze (DPS) strategy. According to Wowhead, some people have been able to finish heroic Oc this way. I can see it being possible with a shit ton of Time Stop coordination (like what you’d have to go through if you were trying to complete the achievement and do the fight with no emerald drakes at all), but we were not able to stick it. By the time I got to phase two, I was so behind in health points that I was in no shape to handle getting hit by a Phase Anomaly’s blast … which I did.

In the end we went with another comment on Wowhead which suggested that two ruby, two emerald, and one bronze was “200 times easier” than the first configuration (you’d have to consult the Leeroy Jenkins stat guy for confirmation on this one). I assigned the other emerald drake to healing the first ruby drake while I focused on healing our second ruby drake and keeping the emerald drake debuff up on the boss. The bronze drake’s job was to keep the channeled spell up on the boss the entire fight, while using Time Stop every time it was cooled down. This made phase one easily manageable, and then the focus shifted to phase two.

We probably shouldn’t have had as much trouble as we did with phase two. After all, all you have to do is kite the orbs, right? Right…

The first important thing about phase two is to start flying away from the boss the second that the phase starts, or your orb will most likely nip you. The second point is to spread out to avoid hitting other people with your Anomaly’s blast or getting hit with another Anomaly’s blast. Finally, it is important to maintain your ability to collapse immediately at the end of phase two so that 1) you can be affected by Martyr when the ruby drakes cast it at the beginning of phase one, and 2) you can be healed by an emerald drake at the beginning of phase one if you get hurt. Wowhead suggests flying at different altitudes, which works like a charm. On top of that, I’d suggest different radial positions. If you flew around the boss in a cross formation (positioned vertically, not horizontally), you’d be in excellent shape. (See what I did there?)

So, Ley-Guardian Eregos finally went down. And guess what? I got my first WotLK epic: Staff of Draconic Combat. I had to roll against the shadow priest for it, but I won. (To explain: The shadow priest’s main spec is holy. Additionally, he is an old friend of mine and he did ask if it was okay with me that he rolled before pressing the Need button.)

In the end, we did make money on the run after turning in the dailies (yes, even the plate wearers). And then I respecced and we grabbed a guild healer so we could run heroic Azjol Nerub. Since I didn’t really heal it I can’t give you the healer play-by-play, but I will say this: It’s all a piece of cake until Anub’arak’s Venomancers (and spikes and Pound) make you work work make you work. Five or six wipes. Damn. (Loot? Our shadow priest got the DPS cloth belt.)

 

Leave a Reply

