Pookies Is Not A Bear

What can he Lifebloom for you?

Double your fun with 2/3 the healers January 14, 2009

Filed under: Raiding — Pookies @ 10:15

For the past two weeks we have been trying a two-healer configuration for normal Naxx.

Last week, we ran a holy priest/resto druid combo for the first ten bosses, which we found to work well. By the time we got to Saph we had subbed in a resto shaman for the holy priest. We went in and wiped a couple of times before calling it for the night and coming back the next day with three healers to take down Saph and KT.

Last night, our holy priest was sick, so it was up to our uber resto druid/resto shaman combo to take it as far as we could. The first ten bosses went down without any difficulty, as expected. By the time we finished our fourth wing, we were about 15 minutes away from raid end time. I was all for calling it and coming back with three healers, but our resto shaman said that he wanted to give Saph another go with two healers, so we did.

It was balls-to-the-wall healing for the entire duration of the fight. And it was so far from perfect—we lost two DPS before the first air phase had ended. But we got him down on our first try. A pat on the back to our shadow priest, who helped heal when we were in a pinch.

To execute this fight with two healers, our main focus as ranged DPS and healers was to stay stacked up while Saph was on the ground to simplify raid healing and eliminate OOR issues between healers and ranged DPS. However, what I found last night is that most of the time when we moved out of Blizzard (we have a tendency to move to the left—I blame our Malygos strategy…and that Beyonce song), I was OOR of the melee DPS, which made for some interesting situations. Next week we’ll have to factor that into our positioning strategy and move out of Blizzard appropriately so that melee is always in healing range.

Once Saph was dead, the raid was supposed to be over. It was supposed to be. But we put it up to a vote, and everyone wanted to try KT, too. I exclaimed, “That’s because you guys don’t have to heal it!” But we did go on to kill KT in one shot as well.

What can I say about this fight with two healers?

Positioning is paramount. We did not get this right off the bat (which could have been deadly). I had to play a bit of leap frog for the first part of the fight until I could reach our resto shaman. It’s a good thing that I did—we both got Frost Blasted before the fight was over.

Even if you have good positioning, if your healer reaction time is slow…then forget about it! When you are running with two healers and the other healer gets Frost Blasted, it is all you. Leave Sluggy McSluggyton on the bench for this one, because the ability of a healer to make decisions when the other healer gets Frost Blasted will dictate whether or not you succeed in this fight.

The fight got very frantic when the adds were released. As luck would have it, our add tank and one of our ranged DPS got Frost Blasted just after the adds were spawned. Everyone lived, but because of healing aggro there was an add on our resto shaman for a good five to ten seconds after the Frost Blast had fallen off of our add tank.

It was down the last 300k of KT’s health when I remember looking at my mana bar and thinking, “If we have another emergency, we are so fucked.” But we didn’t, and we weren’t.

And that was it. Saph and KT were a challenge. But both the resto shaman and myself did admit to having a lot of fun.

It took us just under four hours to clear the instance. It should have been faster, but we were gearing up a DPS or two. Our comp was:

Prot paladin (4 wings) -> DK (Saph, KT)
Prot warrior
Resto shaman
Resto druid
BM hunter
Some sort of mage
Ret paladin
Shadow priest
Elemental shaman (3 wings) -> aff lock (1 wing, Saph, KT)
Enhancement shaman

 

8 Responses to “Double your fun with 2/3 the healers”

  1. Aelinna Says:

    How much spellpower do you have?

    Big tip for Frost Blast – add it to Grid and you’ll gain a good 2 seconds before you would have noticed the damage.

  2. Pookies Says:

    Right now WoW Heroes is telling me 1893 with no buffs and in caster form. IIRC I was buffed up to 2270 or so (ToL form, with flask, no food, no totem). My spellpower is still a tad low because (man, I’m going to get it for this) I’m not honoured with Sons of Hodir yet and my shoulders aren’t enchanted. (…)

    I should really add Frost Blast to Grid, that’s an awesome idea. I’ve been going off of my DBM raid warnings, but that can sometimes get confusing since it announces Frost Blast and Detonate Mana targets exactly the same way. Thanks for the suggestion. 🙂

  3. Aelinna Says:

    Quite impressive! I’m only 1770 or so in caster, but with illustration, raidbuffs etc I’ve seen 2600 😮
    Currently ruling #1 on meters, CoH beats me occasionally but only when they make over ~70% healing done with it. Have you tried taking two druids? My litter of RG hots kicks ASS vs Saph’s aura.

    Pick up inscription and be smug with me! I hate hate hate dailies.
    *smug*

  4. Pookies Says:

    Yeah, we get up to some pretty insane numbers with buffs…more than what we had in bonus healing in TBC! :O

    It would be interesting to run Naxx with another druid, but I’m the only resto druid on the roster. Come to think of it … I’m the only active druid on the roster, period!

    I would take up Inscription, but I’d have to drop Enchanting for it. I DON’T THINK SO!!! Lol. I’m anxiously waiting for 3.0.8 because I do have enough Relics to get into honoured.

  5. Aelinna Says:

    Oh, it’s a real shame you’re missing a moonkin. Earth + Moon is definitely the easiest way to keep +13% spelldamage up, and they do excellent damage on top. Maybe you have an unholy DK.

  6. Pookies Says:

    Yeah, unfortunately we’ve always been short on regular, dedicated druids. 😦 We do have an unholy DK, as well as an elemental shaman.

  7. Tryyss Says:

    I can’t believe you named me last in the raid comp 😦

    😛


Leave a Reply

